Gretel the B (W)itch

“It’s survival of the fittest. It’s always been and it always will be.” Gretel mumbled this over and over as she silently place a small gem on the ground.

“Hansel,” she said sweetly. “It seems like I’m missing a gem.”

“What!” exclaimed Hansel. He turned around to face his sister. “How is that even possible. You’ve told me that at least three times now.” He opened his satchel and counted his gems. “15,” he thought. “She’s already take five. We have less than we should have right now.”

“It seems that I’ve been counting wrong this entire time, so to make sure that we have an equal amount you need to give me one so that I can continue our trail.” she said pointing to the trail of gems she’s made leading towards them. Hansel stared analyzing her annoyingly innocent smile. When he decided that she was being truthful he reluctantly agreed and proceeded to hand her one of his smaller gems.

“No, no, no,” Gretel said with a shake of her head. “I meant the Opheux gem.”

Hansel looked at her with confusion. “You don’t seriously think that I’m going to give it to you right?” He saw her unwavering smile. “Wait. You’re not serious, right? This is the only proof that I have to show the Goddess that I am Jack Baker’s son and member of the Liare society.”

“Oh silly me,” Gretel giggled. “I’ve forgotten to tell you. Awhile back I seemed to have lost my  Opheux gem somewhere along the path.”

“What!” he yelled. “Why didn’t you mention this before! We have to go back. We have to go ge-.”

“Hansel,” she said sweetly, silencing him. “Calm down. The simple solution would be to give me your Opheux gem and let me continue on alone and plead with the Goddess to take you in. I think she will be more humbled with the presence of a woman.”

“You’re not a woman, you’re just a girl!” Hansel spat. “You find some way to charm everyone into getting what you want. I’ve made a promise to keep you safe; one that I will not break, but to let you go to the Goddess and beg to spare the life of your older brother will be the greatest of all humiliations.”

Gretel smiled, “Oh is that so?” she whispered. Reaching her hand into her basket she wrapped her small pale finger around the piece of metal that she careful hid underneath the gems. Still smiling she began to walk toward her brother, inching her hand out of the basket.

Hansel looked down at her. “What do you wa-.”

With a flash of silver she lodged the small knife into her brother’s eye.

“Aaaah!” he screamed dropping to his knees, desperately trying to free the knife. Gretel snatched his satchel away from him. Dumping the contents onto the ground she searched through the gems for the Opheux gem, ignoring her brother’s cries of pain.

“Yes!” she screamed holding the Opheux gem to the light. She gathered up her basket, leaving behind the other useless gems and dashed into the forest.

Hansel, whose face was now stained a bright red, cried in pain as his sister ran off with the only item that could save him from his life of damnation and poverty.

“Gretel,” he thought. “I will find you and I will kill you for what you have done to me.”

Leave a Reply

