I am a Dreamer

I am unrealistic

I am impractical

I am a dreamer

I dream of a world where the only red thing staining the streets

are rose petals.

I dream of a society where who you love is not more important than the fact that

We will be the cause of the Earth’s destruction.

I dream of a world where happily ever afters are not so unbelievable that

they only exist in fairy tales.

I dream of a world where girls are not criticized because of

how much skin they show, or what they wear.

I dream of a place where women can just breastfeed their children in peace!

I dream of a society that does not make rape the victim’s fault.

They are never asking for it.

I dream of a world where people are taught to respect another’s body,

not beat it black and blue.

I dream of a world where boys are not held to a standard of being

strong, unfeeling, and tough “men”.

Let boys be boys or WHATEVER they want to be.

I dream of a world where a headscarf or turban does not define yours

and your children’s lives.

I dream of a world where my decision to bring a child into this world is

not dictated by MEN in power.

I dream of a world where society is not so cruel that

people draw paintings on their skin, with a blade, ending it all.

I dream of a society where all our hopes are not blown away

like a dandelion in the hands of a toddler.

I dream of a world where EVERYONE is cherished, loved, and accepted.

Society tells me that I am unrealistic.

Society tells me that I am impractical.

Society tells me that I am a dreamer.

Leave a Reply

